Emilio Pamàrico (c) Astrid Ackermann

Advance sale of tickets begins 09.07.18
Full-season subscription
Small subscription A
Family subscription B

In the context of »ACHT BRÜCKEN | Musik für Köln«

program download

Symphony concert 9

Works of Aperghis and Bruckner | Teodoro Anzellotti - Accordion, Gürzenich-Orchester Köln, Emilio Pomàrico - Conductor
  • 05.05.2019 Sunday 11:00 h, Kölner Philharmonie
    Order online
  • 06.05.2019 Monday 20:00 h, Kölner Philharmonie
    Order online
  • 07.05.2019 Tuesday 20:00 h, Kölner Philharmonie
    Order online

Georges Aperghis Concerto for accordion and orchestra (2015)
Anton Bruckner Symphony No. 6 A major (1879-81)

Teodoro Anzellotti Accordion
Gürzenich-Orchester Köln
Emilio Pomàrico Conductor

Two unfamiliar confidants in the concert hall. On the one hand, Bruckner’s Sixth Symphony, which by now has unfortunately become a rarity on philharmonic programmes. On the other, the accordion, which has infiltrated the symphonic “apparatus”, plays its way free as soloist, inciting lots of instrumental celebrations and ultimately finding its alter ego and doppelgänger in the powerful organ. The music of Greek-French composer Georges Aperghis is the focus of the EIGHT BRIDGES Festival 2019; it inspires with theatricality and virtuosity. A fitting counterpart to Bruckner’sSixth, which the composer himself called his “cheekiest”. Does the conflict of the rhythms reflect a struggle between heaven and earth? Or is the chugging pulsation at the end in fact a memory of happy hours spent travelling on a train? Emilio Pomàrico, conducting the Gürzenich Orchestra for the first time, will definitely not be shy.