Karina Canellakis (c) Mathias Bothor

Advance sale of tickets begins 09.07.18
Full-season subscription
Small subscription A
Family subscription B

Symphony concert 7

Works of Wagner, Schostakowitsch and Beethoven | Nicolas Altstaedt - Violoncello, Gürzenich-Orchester Köln, Karina Canellakis - Conductor
  • 17.03.2019 Sunday 11:00 h, Kölner Philharmonie Order online
  • 18.03.2019 Monday 20:00 h, Kölner Philharmonie Order online
  • 19.03.2019 Tuesday 20:00 h, Kölner Philharmonie Order online

Richard Wagner »Siegfrieds Tod« and »Trauermarsch« from: »Götterdämmerung« (1848-74)
Dmitrij Schostakowitsch Concerto for Violoncello and orchestra No. 1 E flat major op. 107 (1959)
Ludwig van Beethoven Symphony No. 3 E flat major »Eroica« op. 55 (1803-04)

Nicolas Altstaedt Violoncello
Gürzenich-Orchester Köln
Karina Canellakis Conductor

Only a hole was left. That’s how completely Beethoven wanted to erase his original dedication on the title page of the Third Symphony, »intitolata Bonaparte«. Once he had crowned himself emperor, Napoleon Bonaparte was dead as a role model for Beethoven. Fortunately, Beethoven did not rub out his Third Symphony: he was well aware that he had achieved a compositional masterstroke with his »Eroica«. His work continues to engage with the idea of the heroic. Is the idea put to the grave in the famous funeral march? The triumphant, dancing end indicates otherwise. In Richard Wagner’s »Ring« Siegfried dies forever, experiencing the tragic culmination of his “hero’s life”. Dark and disenchantingly sombre, »Siegfried’s Death« and the subsequent funeral march mark the musical turning point of the »Götterdämmerung«. After the death of the tyrant Stalin, Shostakovich affirmed his own musical language in his cello concerto: the lustre and the impact of a Stalin may decay, but the music of DSCH will remain. Karina Canellakis and Nicolas Altstaedt will ensure it does.