François-Xavier Roth(c)Holger Talinski

Full-season subscription
6-concert subscription B
FXR subscription
Family subscription B

On 6 Feb. 18 live on the Internet

Download programme here

Symphony concert 6

Works of Boulez, Beethoven and Bartók | Benjamin Grosvenor - Piano, Gürzenich-Orchester Köln, François-Xavier Roth - Conductor
  • 04.02.2018 Sunday 11:00 h, Kölner Philharmonie
    Order online
  • 05.02.2018 Monday 20:00 h, Kölner Philharmonie
    Order online
  • 06.02.2018 Tuesday 20:00 h, Kölner Philharmonie
    Order online

Pierre Boulez »Livre« for string orchestra (1968)
Ludwig van Beethoven Concerto for piano and orchestra No. 2 in B-flat major (1786–1801)
Béla Bartók Concerto for Orchestra (1943)

Benjamin Grosvenor Piano
Gürzenich-Orchester Köln
François-Xavier Roth Conductor

To write an all-encompassing book that bears within itself a microcosm of the entire universe—that was the dream of the writer Stéphane Mallarmé. In his »Livre pour Cordes«, the young composer Pierre Boulez continued dreaming the dream. Developing from “Movements for String Quartet”, it grew and proliferated to a »Book for Strings« with which he opens a new chapter in the music of the past century. Beethoven performed his second concerto himself on the piano many times, and also developed it further before having the printed form published, an important step on the path to self-realisation. Béla Bartók sums up his pioneering oeuvre in his »solo for everyone«, the Concerto for Orchestra: spurred by the rhythmic energy of Hungarian folk music, animated by a musical language in which the elements of nature themselves begin to speak, formed by perfect compositional craft, he invites his listeners to an ecstatic dance on the volcano of the 20th century. The master of ceremonies for this programme with key works is General Music Director François-Xavier Roth himself. At his side: Benjamin Grosvenor, a very special pianist of the younger generation.