Yeol Eum Son(c)Jaehyong Park

Advance sale of tickets begins 09.07.18
Full-season subscription
Small subscription A
Family subscription A

(c) Elena Xausa

Focus Schumann

program download

Symphony concert 5

Works of Schumann, Chopin and Zemlinsky | Jennifer Holloway - Soprano, Michael Nagy - Baritone, Yeol Eum Son - Piano, Gürzenich-Orchester Köln, Pablo González - Conductor
  • 13.01.2019 Sunday 11:00 h, Kölner Philharmonie
    Order online
  • 14.01.2019 Monday 20:00 h, Kölner Philharmonie
    Order online
  • 15.01.2019 Tuesday 20:00 h, Kölner Philharmonie
    Order online

Robert Schumann Overture c minor from: »Genoveva« op. 81 (1847/48)
Frédéric Chopin Concerto for piano and orchestra No. 2 f minor op. 21 (1829-30)
Alexander von Zemlinsky Lyric Symphony after 7 poems by Rabindranath Tagore op. 18 for soprano, baritone and grand orchestra (1922-23)

Jennifer Holloway Soprano
Michael Nagy Baritone
Yeol Eum Son Piano
Gürzenich-Orchester Köln
Pablo González Conductor

»I have caught you and wrapt you, / my love, in the net of my music.« Alexander von Zemlinsky’s »Lyric Symphony« tells of an all-consuming love, alternately from a man’s and a woman’s perspectives. Longing, submission, possession, embracing, tedium, disillusion and parting in the verses of the Bengali writer Tagore are congenially transposed into music by Zemlinsky: lust and tonal colours fuse in a unique symphonic form. Chopin’s second piano concerto is also considered a »most soulful outpouring of love«. Robert Schumann perked up his ears and heard the political appeal hidden within: »Chopin's works are cannons concealed in flowers.« Cannons also call Count Siegfried away from his Countess Genoveva; jealousy, slander and wizardry almost lead their love into an abyss. The entire drama of this love is already present in the Overture to »Genoveva«. Pablo González will master the extreme moods in this concert alongside an exquisite trio of soloists.