(c) Alain Riazuelo, IAP/UPMC/CNRS

Advance sale of tickets begins 09.07.18
Full-season subscription
Small subscription B
Family subscription A
FXR subscription

(c) Elena Xausa

Focus Schumann

program download

Symphony concert 4

Works of Parra and Schumann | Truls Mørk - Violoncello, IRCAM, Thomas Goepfer - computerized musical realisation, Gürzenich-Orchester Köln, François-Xavier Roth - Conductor
  • 16.12.2018 Sunday 11:00 h, Kölner Philharmonie
    Order online
  • 17.12.2018 Monday 20:00 h, Kölner Philharmonie
    Order online
  • 18.12.2018 Tuesday 20:00 h, Kölner Philharmonie
    Order online

Hèctor Parra »Inscape« (2018) German premiere
Robert Schumann Concerto for violoncello and orchestra a minor op. 129 (1850)
Symphonie No. 4 d minor op. 120 (1841)

Truls Mørk Violoncello
Thomas Goepfer Computerized musical realisation
Gürzenich-Orchester Köln
François-Xavier Roth Conductor

Robert Schumann was not healthy. He had contracted syphilis, the disease of the epoch, in Leipzig (presumably from a waitress); at the end of his short life it took away his sanity. Perhaps Schumann suspected this, as his art was ambiguous: infused by romantic scary stories and mysterious figures, fantastic in form, fragile, always novel. The cello concerto, which he composed in Düsseldorf, his last place of work, is to be played without breaks between movements – as is the Fourth Symphony, which Schumann planned as a »symphonistic fantasy«, and which presents a radically new solution of the symphony as an idea. With this he left the safe space of classical forms and spheres of expression behind him, moving beyond known territory. The Catalan composer Hèctor Parra strives for this as well in his new work, a commission from the Gürzenich Orchestra; the piece sets out to search for black holes and acoustic puzzles. An endless convergence between Schumann and the present.