Lahav Shani(c)Marco Borggreve

Full-season subscription
6-concert subscription A

Download programme here

Symphony concert 3

Works of Mendelssohn Bartholdy, Mozart and Mahler | Chen Reiss - Soprano, Gürzenich-Orchester Köln, Lahav Shani - Piano and Conductor
  • 12.11.2017 Sunday 11:00 h, Kölner Philharmonie
    Order online
  • 13.11.2017 Monday 20:00 h, Kölner Philharmonie
    Order online
  • 14.11.2017 Tuesday 20:00 h, Kölner Philharmonie
    Order online

Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy »Quiet Sea and Fortunate Voyage« (1832/35)
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart »Ch'io mi scordi di te?« – »Non temer, amato bene« KV 505 recitative and aria for soprano, piano obbligato and orchestra (1786)
Gustav Mahler Symphony No. 4 in G major for orchestra with soprano solo (1900/1910)

Chen Reiss Soprano
Gürzenich-Orchester Köln
Lahav Shani Piano and conductor

»Smooth flatness all around.« Felix Mendelssohn ingeniously translated the »calm sea« from Goethe’s poem of the same name into music – just as he did the rustling wind after the ship »Fortunate Voyage« picks up speed and the waves rise up again. The sky above Gustav Mahler is also blue: the prevailing tone of his Fourth is »the uniform blue of the skies«, which is »more difficult to paint than all changing and contrasting shades«. He put »the cheerfulness of a higher and, for us, unfamiliar world« into music »that holds something eerie and horrifying.« A celestial soprano solo in the final movement proclaims the »heavenly life«: »There is just no music on earth / that can compare to ours.« The exceptional soprano Chen Reiss will perform the balancing act between divine joys and worldly turmoil. She can also be experienced in Mozart’s extraordinary concert aria KV 550, in which Idamante pledges fidelity to his Ilia: »Fear nothing, my beloved«! Mozart composed this masterstroke for an esteemed soprano and himself. As Mozart once did, conductor Lahav Shani will conduct this aria from the piano.