François-Xavier Roth (c) Holger Talinski

Advance sale of tickets begins 09.07.18
Full-season subscription
Small subscription A
Family subscription A
FXR subscription

Ein Meister der Kontraste

Jean-Frédéric Neuburger im Gespräch über Robert Schumann und sein neues Stück „Faits et gestes“.  ► zum Interview

(c) Elena Xausa

Focus Schumann

download programme

On 18. June 19 live on the internet


Symphony concert 11

Works of Neuburger and Schumann | Jean-Frédéric Neuburger - Piano, Gürzenich-Orchester Köln, François-Xavier Roth - Conductor
  • 16.06.2019 Sunday 11:00 h, Kölner Philharmonie
    Order online
  • 17.06.2019 Monday 20:00 h, Kölner Philharmonie
    Order online
  • 18.06.2019 Tuesday 20:00 h, Kölner Philharmonie
    Order online

Jean-Frédéric Neuburger »Faits et gestes« (2019) World premiere
Robert Schumann Concerto for piano and orchestra a minor op. 54 (1841-45)
Symphony No. 1 B flat major op. 38 »Spring Symphony« (1841)

Jean-Frédéric Neuburger Piano
Gürzenich-Orchester Köln
François-Xavier Roth Conductor

»I wrote the symphony, if I may say so, in that rush of spring which carries a man away even in his old age, and comes over him anew every year«, Robert Schumann rhapsodised about the creative outpouring in which, in only four days in January 1841, he put his first symphony on paper. A longing for spring permeates the work, which opens in the horns and trumpets. The work commissioned from the young Frenchman Jean-Frédéric Neuburger promises a similar lightness. He has a »capriccio« in mind, a breach of rules and norms both wilful and joyous. With its effervescent character, it contrasts with Robert Schumann’s contemplative piano concerto in A minor, where Jean-Frédéric Neuburger can also be experienced as the pianist. Schumann’s young wife Clara Schumann was enthusiastic when she for the first time played what later became the first movement: »The piano is so skilfully interwoven with the orchestra, you cannot conceive of one without the other.« The virtuoso will also have decoded the declaration of love hidden in the main theme – the four letters of her name translated into Italian: »C h ( i ) a ( r ) a«.