Dmitrij Kitajenko(c)Klaus Rudolph

Full-season subscription
6-concert subscription A
Family subscription A

On 19 Jun. 18 live on the Internet

program download

Symphony concert 11

Works of Rimskij-Korsakow, Taneev and Rachmaninow | Czech Philharmonic Choir Brno, Gürzenich-Orchester Köln, Dmitrij Kitajenko - Conductor and many more
  • 17.06.2018 Sunday 11:00 h, Kölner Philharmonie
    Order online
  • 18.06.2018 Monday 20:00 h, Kölner Philharmonie
    Order online
  • 19.06.2018 Tuesday 20:00 h, Kölner Philharmonie
    Order online

Nikolaj Rimskij-Korsakow »The Legend of the Invisible City of Kitezh and the Maiden Fevroniya« Suite in four movements (1904)
Sergej Taneev »John of Damascus« Cantata for mixed choir and orchestra (1883-84)
Sergej Rachmaninow »The Bells« Poem for soli, mixed choir and orchestra (1913)

Anna Samuil Soprano
Dmytro Popov Tenor
Vladislav Sulimski Bass-baritone
Tschechischer Philharmonischer Chor Brno
Petr Fiala Choir Master
Gürzenich-Orchester Köln
Dmitrij Kitajenko Conductor

So long as clocks were not widespread, the sound of bells defined the rhythm of life for communities. Pealing bells announce not only the rhythm of the hours – even seasons have different bell tones. Bells ring in the event of fire and alarm; wedding bells bear witness to life; death knells proclaim the last hour. In 1913 Sergei Rachmaninoff composed his epic choral symphony, which encompasses the entire cycle of life, based on a sonorous poem by Edgar Allan Poe. A high-calibre trio of soloists and the powerful Czech Chamber Choir Brno will perform the opulent work, conducted by honorary conductor Dmitri Kitayenko. Sergei Taneyev, Tchaikovsky’s only student of composition, strikes a different tone in his cantata about church father John of Damascus: John was described as »streaming with gold« due to his talent for oratory, and lived to be over 100 years old. Taneyev also turns his attention to the self-doubts that can beset a believer; with his opus 1 he created a fascinating work somewhere between orthodox rigour and polyphonic optimism. The residents of the legendary city of Kitezh also seek refuge in faith from the attacking Tatars. Bells augur a rescue for the residents.