Ray Chen(c)Julian Hargreaves
In cooperation

New Year's Concert

Works of Paganini, Liszt and Offenbach | Ray Chen - Violin, Gürzenich-Orchester Köln, Lukasz Borowicz - Conductor
  • 31.12.2017 Sunday 18:00 h, Kölner Philharmonie
    Order online

Niccolò Paganini Concerto for violin and orchestra No. 1 (1817–18)
Franz Liszt 1st Mephisto Waltz (1859–62)
Jacques Offenbach »Galop infernal« from »Orpheus in the Underworld« (1858)

Ray Chen Violin
Gürzenich-Orchester Köln
Lukasz Borowicz Conductor

The last evening of the old year is traditionally the right moment to dispel evil spirits. But who invited himself to the musical feast? Is that a Stone Guest? Such magical virtuosity – isn’t there something a little strange about it? The Gürzenich-Orchestra invites you to a dance with the devil before New Year’s dinner. Whether it’s to the beat of a waltz or with tango steps – the old year will pass by at an infernal gallop! Guest conductor Lukasz Borowicz and the Gürzenich-Orchestra have mastered the diabolical perils of this gala programme with wizard Ray Chen heading them up: musical fireworks before the year is out.