(c)Fabian Helmich

Introduction to the concert
at 2 pm, gallery

Mehr Informationen zu Johannes Brahms in Köln

More information on
»Johannes Brahms in Cologne«

Download programme here

chamber concert03

Works by Brahms, Bruch and Braunfels
  • 28.01.2017 Saturday 15:00 h, Podium der Kölner Philharmonie
    Order online

Max Bruch Quintet for piano and string quartet G minor (1886)
Johannes Brahms Trio for piano, clarinet and violoncello in A minor (1891)
Walter Braunfels Quintet for two violins, viola and two violoncellos F-sharp minor (1945)

Tino Plener clarinet
Alberto Menchen violin
Rose Kaufmann violin
Antje Kaufmann viola
Joachim Griesheimer violoncello
Katharina Apel-Hülshoff violoncello
Roland Krüger piano

Three composers whose biographies are linked with Cologne united on one programme: Walter Braunfels, who was removed from his post as the director of the Cologne Academy of Music by the Nazis, wrote his string quintet in “internal exile” in Überlingen am Bodensee towards the end of his life. Max Bruch’s piano quintet commemorates his time in Liverpool, where he was not only the director of the Philharmonic Society, but also got to know his wife. The clarinet trio, finally, had its origin in Johannes Brahms’s late love for the clarinet: as Eduard Hanslick wrote, he was veritably “wedded” to the sound.