(c)Holger Talinski

Advance sale of tickets begins 18.06.18

Chamber concert 6

Works of Mozart and Offenbach/Tarkmann
  • 01.06.2019 Saturday 15:00 h, Kölner Philharmonie Order online

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart Serenade C minor KV 388 (384a) »Nachtmusique« for two oboes, two clarinets, two cornets, two bassoons and a double bass (1782)
Jacques Offenbach/Andreas N. Tarkmann »Offenbach in der Unterwelt« Suite for wind nonet »Offenbachiade« (2004)

Sunghyun Cho Flute
Tom Owen Oboe
Sebastian Poyault Oboe
Blaž Šparovec Clarinet
Tino Plener Clarinet
Thomas Jedamzik Bassoon
Diana Rohnfelder Bassoon
Egon Hellrung Cornet
Andreas Jakobs Cornet

»La belle Hélène«, »Fantasio«, »La vie Parisienne«, »Orphée aux enfers« – perhaps simply mentioning their titles will provoke operetta lovers to sing along. But the arranger Andreas Tarkmann manages a miracle in his »Offenbachiade«: he preserves the sparkling champagne mood of Jacques Offenbach’s music with a tour through less well-known moments in his oeuvre. In Offenbach’s birthday month, the programme will dare to put it to the test, presenting the »Mozart of the Champs-Elysées« together with the real Mozart. The latter pulled one over on the festive occasion, composing a true wind symphony with the Serenade in C minor, not merely incidental light music. It will be presented by the newly formed wind octet of the Gürzenich Orchestra.