(c)Holger Talinski

Advance sale of tickets begins 18.06.18

Chamber concert 5

Works of Von Dohnányi, Manoury and Golijov
  • 13.04.2019 Saturday 15:00 h, Kölner Philharmonie Order online

Ernst von Dohnányi Serenade C major op. 10 for string trio (1902)
Philippe Manoury »Stringendo« string quartet No. 1 (2010)
Osvaldo Golijov »The Dreams and Prayers of Isaac the Blind« for clarinet and string quartet (1994)

Blaž Šparovec Clarinet
Jordan Ofiesh Violin
Marie Daniel Violin
Nathan Braude Viola
Jee-Hye Bae Violoncello

»Music is an art that springs from our gift to sing and listen, and has the power to build castles of sound in our memory.« Osvaldo Golijov goes back to the roots in his quintet for clarinet and strings. One of the founders of the Kabbalah, called Isaac the Blind, shows him the way. It is unique how the worlds of classical and klezmer music are wedded to each other here. Philippe Manoury, Composer for Cologne, also returns briefly to monody at the end of his first string quartet. A piece for strings that gradually picks up speed, as called for by the instruction »stringendo«. Ernst von Dohnányi situates the programme in the Romantic tradition.