Chamber concert 5

Works of Debussy
  • 21.04.2018 Saturday 15:00 h, Kölner Philharmonie
    Order online

Claude Debussy
Sonate en trio in F major for flute, viola and harp (1915)
»Deux Danses« for harp and string quintet (1904)
»Syrinx« for flute solo (1913)
Claude Debussy / Pierre Louÿs »Chansons de Bilitis« Music for scenic recitation of twelve poems for speaker, two flutes, two harps and celesta

Marie Daniel Violin
Jordan Ofiesh Violin
Nathan Braude Viola
Bonian Tian Violoncello
Johannes Seidl Double bass
Sunghyun Cho Flute
Priska Rauh Flute
Nathalie Streichardt Narrator
Amandine Duchênes Celesta
Saskia Kwast Harp
Antonia Schreiber Harp

Harp and flute – in Claude Debussy’s oeuvre, they always become the medium of a mythical nature, of a time that is lost and found again, of a sensual foray into an alien yet familiar world. The programme focussing on Debussy’s compositions for the older siblings of Apollo’s lyre and the flute of Pan, the god of shepherds, climaxes in a performance of Debussy’s Chansons de Bilitis, visually powerful incidental music for the recitation of twelve erotic poems that Debussy’s contemporary Pierre Louÿs purportedly translated from Greek – an ingenious fin de siècle fake. A concert celebrating the 100th anniversary of Debussy’s death on 25 March 2018.