(c)Holger Talinski

Advance sale of tickets begins 18.06.18

program download

Chamber concert 4

Works of Webern, Berg and Schubert
  • 16.03.2019 Saturday 15:00 h, Kölner Philharmonie
    Order online

Anton Webern Four pieces op. 7 for violin and piano (1910)
Alban Berg Four pieces op. 5 for clarinet and piano (1913)
Anton Webern Sonata for violoncello and piano (1914)
Three little pieces op. 11 for violoncello and piano (1914)
Six Bagatelles op. 9 for string quartet (1911/13)
Franz Schubert Octet F major op. 166 D 803 for clarinet, bassoon, cornet, two violins, viola, violoncello and double bass (1824)

Alvaro Palmen Violin
Elisabeth Polyzoides Violin
Demetrius Polyzoides Viola
Daniel Raabe Violoncello
Henning Rasche Double bass
Oliver Schwarz Clarinet
Thomas Jedamzik Bassoon
Egon Hellrung Cornet
Paulo Álvares Piano

The contrast could hardly be greater: while with his octet for a mixed chamber ensemble of woodwinds and strings, Franz Schubert wanted to »prepare the way for a great symphony«, Anton Webern was conquering the field of chamber music in another direction. His Bagatelles express »a novel in a single gesture, a joy in a breath«, as Arnold Schönberg appreciated admiringly. A programme full of highly concentrated expressivity, about the Romantic era and its consequences.