Chamber concert 4

Works of Höller, Zimmermann and Schumann
  • 24.02.2018 Saturday 15:00 h, Kölner Philharmonie
    Order online

York Höller »Tagträume« seven sound poems for violin, cello, and piano (1994)
Bernd Alois Zimmermann Trio for violin, viola and cello (1942-44)
Robert Schumann Quintet in E-flat major for 2 violins, viola, cello and piano (1824)

Alvaro Palmen Viola
Elisabeth Polyzoides Violine
Demetrius Polyzoides Violine
Daniel Raabe Violoncello
Janna Polyzoides Piano

»Time is the black hole which swallows everything and makes it disappear forever«, the author Cees Nooteboom writes. York Höller counters disappearance with his daydreams, seven sound poems for piano trio. York Höller’s former teacher, Bernd Alois Zimmermann, wrote his trio »with heart and soul« – and quite a number of rhythmic complexities for the players. And Richard Wagner understood his colleague Robert Schumann better after hearing his quintet: »I see where you are headed and assure you that I want to head there too: it is the only salvation: beauty!«