Chamber concert 3

Works of Bach, Strawinsky and Mendelssohn Bartholdy
  • 16.12.2017 Saturday 15:00 h, Kölner Philharmonie
    Order online

Johann Sebastian Bach Brandenburg Concerto No. 3 in G major BWV 1048 (around 1714)
Igor Strawinsky »Concerto en Ré« for string orchestra »Basle« (1946)
Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy Octet in E-flat major for four violins, two violas and two celli (1825)

Jana Andraschke Violin
Anna Isabel Fritz Violin
William Grigg Violin
Liz Macintosh Violin
Martina Horejsi-Kiefer Viola
Antje Kaufmann Viola
Gerhard Dierig Viola
Daniel Raabe Violoncello
Joachim Griesheimer Violoncello
Sylvia Borg-Bujanowski Violoncello
Henning Rasche Double bass
Roderick Shaw Harpsichord

Three times three at eye level: an interplay of forces, a wonderful balancing act arises from a cambiata, a changing note, in Bach’s probably most famous Brandenburg Concerto. Two times four: on the wings of Goethe’s Faust, Felix Mendelssohn lifts to a flight through the clouds with his Octet, a marvel of the Romantic era. Stravinsky’s Concerto in D: »They’ll see right away that it has three movements. Don’t you want to allow them the pleasure of discovering it themselves?«