(c)Holger Talinski

Advance sale of tickets begins 18.06.18

Chamber concert 2

Works of Hanschel, Haydn and Mozart
  • 27.10.2018 Saturday 15:00 h, Kölner Philharmonie Order online

Roger Hanschel »Regeneration & Blend« for string quartet and alto saxophone (2014)
Joseph Haydn Divertimento No. 8 in D major for wind sextet Hob. II:8 (1767)
Roger Hanschel »Vin« for string quartet and alto saxophone (2014)
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart Divertimento No. 8 F major KV 213 for wind sextet (1775)
Roger Hanschel »Was weite Herzen füllt« for wind sextet, string quartet and alto saxophone (2014)

Sebastian Poyault Oboe
Ikuko Homma Oboe
Thomas Jedamzik Bassoon
Diana Rohnfelder Bassoon
Andreas Jakobs French horn
Jörn Köster French horn
Roger Hanschel Alto saxophone
Marie Daniel Violin
Joanna Becker Violin
Vincent Royer Viola
Daniel Raabe Cello

Great entertainment – in the 18th century, that’s what wind ensembles were usually responsible for. With their “divertimenti”, the winds ensured that at festivities and on special days the sound was perfect, indoors or out. In contrast, the string quartet was considered the epitome of music-making within bourgeois homes. With this programme, the musicians of the Gürzenich Orchestra bridge the worlds, inviting the saxophone virtuoso Roger Hanschel for this purpose. He blends the sounds of his instrument with strings and with winds, and in so doing, almost incidentally reconciles “jazz” and “classical” music.