Flora concert 1

Works of Dvořák, Schulhoff and Brahms
  • 26.11.2017 Sunday 11:00 h, Flora Köln, Festsaal
    Order online

Antonín Dvořák Terzetto for two violins and viola (1887)
Erwin Schulhoff Five pieces for string quartet (1923)
Johannes Brahms Quintet in G major for two violins, two violas and cello (1890)

Dylan Naylor Violin
Toshiko Tamayo Violin
Martina Horejsi-Kiefer Viola
Gabriel Tamayo Viola
Daniel Raabe Violoncello

It was intended to be his final statement: in his String Quintet op. 111, Brahms reviews the 19th century, with echoes from Richard Wagner to Johann Strauss to Beethoven and Mendelssohn. Waltz rhythm and Hungarian nuances reveal Brahms’s fondness for visits to the Viennese Prater amusement park. Bohemian echoes also conclude the five pieces by Czech composer Erwin Schulhoff, who died in 1942 in a Bavarian concentration camp. His stylistically versatile 1924 quartet hearkens to the pulse of the time.