Download programme here

Introduction to the concert
Sun 10 am, Mon and Tue 7 pm

Full season subscription
6 concert series subscription B

Dieses Konzert wird für GO PLUS aufgezeichnet.

Livestream available on 11 July!

The cycle of Bruckner by FXR

symphony concert12

Works by Lachenmann and Bruckner | Gürzenich-Orchester Köln, François-Xavier Roth - Dirigent
  • 09.07.2017 Sunday 11:00 h, Kölner Philharmonie
    Order online
  • 10.07.2017 Monday 20:00 h, Kölner Philharmonie
    Order online
  • 11.07.2017 Tuesday 20:00 h, Kölner Philharmonie
    Order online

Helmut Lachenmann »Tableau« for orchestra (1988/1989)
Anton Bruckner Symphony No. 8 C minor (1890)

Gürzenich-Orchester Köln
François-Xavier Roth conductor

“This Symphony is the creation of a Titan and in spiritual dimension, richness and grandeur surpasses all the master's other symphonies.” Bruckner rarely heard words of praise during his lifetime like these from Hugo Wolf after the premiere of his 8th Symphony. “Notwithstanding the usual Cassandra prophecies of woe, even from those in the know, its success was almost without precedent. It was the absolute victory of light over darkness, and the storm of applause at the end of each movement was like some elemental manifestation of nature. In short, even a Roman emperor could not have wished for a more superb triumph.” With the Eighth, Bruckner experienced the greatest success in his career as composer. And yet he remained ‘outmoded’ with this symphony, as with his others. In his Bruckner cycle, Francois-Xavier Roth will precede the Eighth with a key work of the 20th century composed by Helmut Lachenmann. In ‘Tableau’, Lachenmann has been looking behind the facade of the huge orchestra; he listens in to the materiality of the sound objects and examines the magic props of romantic music, seeking a new experience of beauty.