Lahav Shani(c)Marco Borggreve
Download programme here

Introduction to the concert
Sun 10 am, Mon and Tue 7 pm

Großes Abonnement
Kleines Abonnement A
Familien-Abonnement B

Dieses Konzert wird für GO PLUS aufgezeichnet.

Livestream available on 20 June 7.30 pm!

symphony concert11

Wroks by Prokofjew, Bloch and Tschaikowsky | Nicolas Altstaedt - violoncello, Gürzenich-Orchester Köln, Lahav Shani - conductor
  • 18.06.2017 Sunday 11:00 h, Kölner Philharmonie
    Order online
  • 19.06.2017 Monday 20:00 h, Kölner Philharmonie
    Order online
  • 20.06.2017 Tuesday 20:00 h, Kölner Philharmonie
    Order online

Sergej Prokofjew »Ouvertüre über Hebräische Themen« Setting for minor orchestra (1919/1934)
Ernest Bloch »Schelomo. Rhapsodie hébraïque« for violoncello and orchestra (1916)
Peter Iljitsch Tschaikowsky Symphony No. 4 F minor (1876/1877)

Nicolas Altstaedt violoncello
Gürzenich-Orchester Köln
Lahav Shani conductor

The question “Who am I?” underlies all the works in this concert program. In search of his musical identity, Ernst Bloch included his experiences, desires and dreams in this “recited” cello concerto full of orchestral colours that is based on the Old Testament figure of King Solomon. Bloch was searching for music with “Hebrew themes.” His Russian colleague Sergej Prokofjew was one of the first composers who captured the typical sound of klezmer music in his Overture on Hebrew Themes. Peter Tschaikowsky, too, found himself through his composing. “The Fourth originates from my very being and was composed with true inspiration, love and fervent enthusiasm. There is not a note in the score that did not arise from my sincerest feelings.” Hopelessness but also joy and happiness permeate this autobiographically tinged symphony. Cellist Nicolas Altstaedt and conductor Lahav Shani – two of the most versatile and internationally popular young concert artists – are performing with the Gürzenich Orchestra.