(c)Gürzenich-Orchester Köln
Download programme here

Introduction to the concert
Sun 10 am, Mon and Tue 7 pm

Full season subscription
6 concert series subscription A
Family Concert Series Subscription B

On May 9th available as a livestream Dieses Konzert wird für GO PLUS aufgezeichnet.

symphony concert09

Works about the sea | Donatienne Michel-Dansac - soprano, Gürzenich-Orchester Köln, François-Xavier Roth - conductor
  • 07.05.2017 Sunday 11:00 h, Kölner Philharmonie
    Order online
  • 08.05.2017 Monday 20:00 h, Kölner Philharmonie
    Order online
  • 09.05.2017 Tuesday 20:00 h, Kölner Philharmonie
    Order online

Benjamin Britten »Four Sea Interludes« from »Peter Grimes« (1945)
Unsuk Chin »Le silence des Sirènes« for soprano and orchestra (2014)
Maurice Ravel »Une barque sur l’océan« (1906)
Claude Debussy »La mer« – Three symphonic sketches

Donatienne Michel-Dansac soprano
Gürzenich-Orchester Köln
François-Xavier Roth conductor

The wonderful and seductive singing of the sirens has been the downfall of many a mariner. An iridescent piece by Korean composer Unsuk Chin breathes new life into the myth of the sirens, setting texts by Homer and James Joyce – interpreted with irresistible force and lyric intensity by soprano Donatienne Michel-Dansac. The dangers of life at sea are also the subject of “Peter Grimes” by Benjamin Britten. The four “Sea Interludes” bring together the opera’s emotional storms. Concluding the concert, the two French colorists Ravel and Debussy have “captured” the sea in tone-paintings revealing the most artistic and subtle compositional nuances. This is music that evolves from the finely detailed interplay of numerous very small motifs. As Debussy once wrote himself: in a “mysterious convergence of nature and the imagination.”

More on the
Country of music: Great Britain

Musical landscape Great Britain