(c)Matthias Baus

Introduction to the concert
at 2 pm, gallery

Mehr Informationen zu Johannes Brahms in Köln

More information on
»Johannes Brahms in Cologne«

Download programme here

chamber concert06

Works by Onslow, Penderecki and Brahms
  • 01.07.2017 Saturday 15:00 h, Podium der Kölner Philharmonie
    Order online

George Onslow Quintet for two violins, viola and two violoncellos G minor (1849)
Krzysztof Penderecki Quartet for clarinet and string trio (1993)
Johannes Brahms Quintet for clarinet and string quartet B minor (1891)

Blaž Šparovec clarinet
Dylan Naylor violin
Toshiko Tamayo violine
Nathan Braude viola
Georg Heimbach violoncello
Franziska Leube violoncello

A deaf ear and a bullet in the neck did not prevent France’s most famous chamber musician George Onslow from composing a total of 34 string quintets. In Cologne, too, the composer was played highly successfully even in his lifetime. Like Johannes Brahms, whose clarinet quintet many consider one of his most beautiful works. Krzysztof Penderecki contrasts a transparent counterpoint with Brahms’s close-knit tapestry of voices, until the clarinet seduces the strings to waltz.