(c)Matthias Baus
Download programme here

Introduction to the concert
at 2 pm, gallery

Musical landscape Great Britain

More on the
Country of music: Great Britain

chamber concert05

Works by Prokofjew, Bliss und Vaughan Williams
  • 17.06.2017 Saturday 15:00 h, Podium der Kölner Philharmonie
    Order online

Sergej Prokofjew »Ouverture on Hebrew Themes« C minor for clarinet, two violins, viola, violoncello and piano (1919)
Ralph Vaughan Williams Quintet for violin, viola, violoncello, double bass and piano C minor (1903, rev. 1904/1905)
Arthur Bliss Quintet for clarinet and string quartet (1932)

Tino Plener clarinet
Nathalie Streichardt violin
Petra Hiemeyer violin
Eva-Maria Wilms viola
Daniela Bock violoncello
Johannes Seidl bass
Sunhee Kim-Nußbeck piano

“You’re never quite sure whether you are listening to old music or new, or to some alloy of the two,” commented an English music journalist about the music of Ralph Vaughan Williams. With his piano quintet, rediscovered only quite recently, he links to the Elizabethan phantasy. His younger colleague Arthur Bliss wrote one of the most beautiful clarinet quintets in the tradition of Johannes Brahms. Sergej Prokofjew, finally, was inspired by klezmer music and fantasised about it – also with the clarinet at its centre.