(c)Holger Talinski

Chamber concert 1

Works of Höller, Ibert, Martinů and Bach

York Höller String Quartet No. 2 (1997)
Jacques Ibert Deux Interludes for flute, violin and harpsichord (1946)
Bohuslav Martinů Promenades for flute, violin and harpsichord (1939)
Johann Sebastian Bach Brandenburg Concerto No. 4 in G major (1720)

Alja Velkaverh Flute
Christiane Menke Flute
David Johnson Violin
Daniel Dangendorf Violin
Hae-Jin Lee Violin
Ina Bichescu Viola
Johannes Nauber Violoncello
Johannes Eßer Kontrabass
Roderick Shaw Harpsichord

Bach’s fourth Brandenburg Concerto unleashes a pastoral game. A solo violin and two flutes defy each other, as Apollo and Pan, god of shepherds, once did. In Ibert’s Deux inventions, the spirit of the Baroque trio sonata is revitalized, while Martinu’s »promenades« resemble an instrumental madrigal. York Höller’s second string quartet also experiments with traditional forms and develops its sound shape from the famous hymn »Veni creator spiritus«. Promenades between Baroque and neo-Baroque.